Weekend Report: 5.11-5.13 New York

For those of you just tuning in my boyfriend accepted a great job for a huge medical distribution company. The only catch is that he had to sign the contract without knowing where he was going… six months after signing on the dotted line he found out he is headed to New York!

This weekend was devoted to finding Cody a great one bedroom/ one bathroom apartment near his new NY job.

We packed up on Thursday and left at 5 AM to go get our rental car. Unfortunately there was some confusion as to where we were picking up the car but after about an hour we were on our way.

Cody’s brother, Daniel, and I slept pretty much the entire 8 hour drive.

The drive from Ohio to New York should have taken close to 9 1/2 hours but speed demons Allen (Cody’s father) and Cody were a bit heavy on the gas.. So instead of getting to NY by 3:30/4:00 we arrived at 2 PM. Our eight hour drive included a stop for breakfast, gas, and one bathroom break and it still only took 8 hours.

It was such a gorgeous day!

We originally planned to look at apartments all day Saturday and just get to the hotel Friday and relax. But it was 2 PM!! So we headed to Cody’s top choice for an apartment… Let’s just say that it was on the very bad end of town. Apparently, after talking to a few landlords around the area, downtown is really not a safe place to live. The area was really run down and creepy.

So we continued our journey to several apartments and kept striking out.

Finally we went to a really nice complex. They showed us the one bedroom option and even gave Cody the ability to pick his exact apartment.

His new apartment has never been lived in, which is shocking as every other place we looked at was built in the early 1900s.

The apartment is spacious and clean. He was a beautiful view from up on the point of the hill.  The apartment has an updated kitchen, dining room, living room, bedroom with a huge walk in closet and a ginormous bathroom. The best part of the apartment is that it was a washer and dryer in the unit! With all of Cody’s research before we came up here.. He found 2 units that have a washer and dryer in them! So he is very lucky to have them!

Another great part of complex is the brand new workout facilities. Lastly- it is also a dog friendly building so Carmen will be able to come visit this year and live there next year!

Cody was quickly sold on the complex but I asked him if he wanted to wait to put a deposit down until he had seen a few other apartments… he quickly said no!

So three hours after arriving– Cody already found an apartment!!

We then went furniture shopping. Cody will be pretty set for next year but needs a couch, chair, and coffee table.  The furniture hunt will continue for the next month or so I’m sure… he has to scope out the best options 🙂

We then drove to see where his work will be, ate dinner, and headed to the hotel.

When we woke up the next day we realized we didn’t have very much more we needed to get done. We headed to the International House of Pancakes- it was delicious!

After heading back over to his new apartment to get measure out the specific dimensions we decided to head to NYC.

On the way down we stopped at Cheeburger Cheeburger. The first time I had Cheeburger Cheeburger was over Spring Break and it was the absolute BEST milkshake I have ever had. I was joking around with Cody about New York having one.. and to my surprise they do!!

I had a mint oreo milkshake and couldn’t have been happier!

We then headed straight downtown NYC. It was crazy with the hustle and bustle of the city. I have been to NYC a few times but I have never been one of those crazy drivers! It was so fun to see the shops and all of the people. The driving made me soo nervous but I’m glad we decided to go 🙂

It took us 2.5 hours to get though 2 miles of NYC traffic but we made it out alive! After that we decided to head back home a day early.

Sunday we woke up and headed home to pick up Carmen. I can never get over how much I miss her.

The rest of the day composed of laundry, Carmen bath time, making gluten free waffles, and studying.

Hope your weekend was fabulous and you are refreshed for the week ahead!

2 thoughts on “Weekend Report: 5.11-5.13 New York

  1. When I agreed to accept my job I also started without knowing where I would be transferred to! I went through 2 months of training and near the end of training they told us which of the 36 offices across America we would be transferred to! Luckily I ended up in Boston and I couldn’t love it more! 🙂

    • I’m so glad they sent you to a place you love now! 🙂 How long is your placement there?

      I am sure that Cody will absolutely love NY but it will hard to be so far apart!

Leave a comment